Falling for Autumn

Fall has arrived! Pumpkin Spice Lattes are brewing and Bath & Body Works brought out the Leaves scented candles. Ahh, fall! A season I love so much, I named my daughter after it. It’s true. What’s not to love about the end of brutal heat, drought, and sunburn? The arrival of cool nights, boots and sweaters, and colorful leaves. And of course, football!

While here in the south, fall is still feeling much like summer, the beautiful colors of the season are everywhere in the retail world. It’s easy to freshen up your home with these colors and textures!

One age-old designer tip is to keep the expensive, large furniture pieces in your home neutral, and to change out accessories and textiles with the changing seasons. I switch out things like decorative pillows, throws, and candles first. I also have a few framed photos and accessories that I’ll rotate. Time to put away the beach photos in the nautical frames! I like to place pumpkins, gourds, and dried corn throughout the living spaces to really evoke that harvest feeling of fall. I bring out the scented candles that smell like Leaves (my absolute favorite BBW scented candle!), pumpkin, cider, and spices. I also found a sunflower scented Febreeze spray that works well for summer and fall. This year, I bought some ceramic acorn candle holders that I’m in love with, and fit perfectly in a fall decor scheme, but will also transition well into winter. I also found some very fun Halloween soaps and air fresheners! (I swear, they don’t pay me to promote their products, though I’d happily accept bribes! Haha!)

Acorn candle holder: http://www.bathandbodyworks.com/product/index.jsp?productId=13201314&cp=12587013.12936218.4147337

Halloween soap that glows in the dark and plays creepy sounds! Soooo much fun for the kids! http://www.bathandbodyworks.com/product/index.jsp?productId=13115319&cp=4090262.12982860.13332912.13332913

I’m loving this Haunted House air freshener, too: http://www.bathandbodyworks.com/product/index.jsp?productId=13075544&cp=4090262.12982860.13332912.15236236

For the non-retail addicts, there are some inexpensive and even free ways to welcome fall. A vase of bare, gathered twigs can work nicely. A bowl of acorns, pinecones, or leaves will add a natural touch. And gardeners might have some prized pumkins or squash to show off!

What changes do you make in your home to welcome the changing season?

 

 

